Uni SA Department of Rural Health

The University of South Australia Department of Rural Health (UniSA DRH), is a Commonwealth funded project referred to as the Rural Health Multidisciplinary Training (RHMT) Programme.  The programme aims to

  1. Improve the recruitment and retention of nursing and allied health professionals in rural and remote Australia
  2. Conduct activity to support the current workforce
  3. Undertake research to help us better understand the health of rural South Australian communities and how we can support rural South Australian communities to increase health service capacity in the bush.

Our team consists of both experienced multidisciplinary academics, health practitioners and professionals who work together with a range of stakeholders in communities throughout rural South Australia.

Our staff are located throughout rural South Australia including the Barossa Valley, Mount Barker, Mount Gambier, Port Augusta, Port Pirie, Port Lincoln and Whyalla.  Supporting the following regions: the Barossa Valley, Eyre Peninsula, Far North, Fleurieu Peninsula, Limestone Coast, Mid-North, Murraylands, Riverland and Yorke Peninsula.

The research team, based here at Mount Barker, are focused on understanding the health of rural communities, evaluating our workforce development programs and working with our communities to refine and test new models of care.